Help for creating a website / blog for a total newbie

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
JessieJane

Help for creating a website / blog for a total newbie

Post by JessieJane »

Hello, I would like to create a website / blog but find that the FAQs are really quite high-tech speak - can anyone sort of translate into language for absloute beginners and tell me exactly what i have to do?

I live in Germany and I have my package with strato. Does anyone have any experience with strato in setting up such a website.

I wanted to download the necessary program, but i see there are 3 downloads. do i have to download all of them or just one? I have windows 7.

Basically, can some kind person here tell me step by step what to do - in a language that tech-idiots such as myself can understand?

That would be fantastic!!

Thanks!!

Jessie
garvinhicking
Core Developer

Re: Help for creating a website / blog for a total newbie

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

You might want to read through this book:

https://github.com/s9y/Book/blob/master/serendipity.pdf

(It's german)

You might also want to browse through these:

http://robertlender.info/blog/s9ymanual/start.html

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
yellowled
Regular

Post by yellowled »

JessieJane wrote:Hello, I would like to create a website / blog but find that the FAQs are really quite high-tech speak - can anyone sort of translate into language for absloute beginners and tell me exactly what i have to do?

Are you aware that there's a German book on Serendipity written by our core developer Garvin Hicking which is now open sourced (i.e. available for free)? That should pretty much cover about anything you will need to know. You can get a printed copy of the book (for shipping costs only) through Sidux e.V..