Page 1 of 2

how to hide the whole sidebar ?

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:09 am
by bogus
Hi,

how can I hide the whole sidebar ?
Not like the hide-sidebar-plugin, which seems to hide only single sidebar-plugins.

I included my dokuwiki with wrapURL into my blog,
and now I want to hide the sidebar... to get more space for the wiki !

The g2_embed-Plugin does exactly what I want:
After login into the embedded gallery, the sidebar gets disabled !

How can I achieve this ?
Any ideas ?

- bogus -

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:48 am
by judebert
You could just remove all the sidebar plugins, or move them into the hidden column, from "Configure Plugins" on the admin page.

Or you could edit your index.tpl and remove the sidebar, which will also avoid calling all the sidebar plugins.

temporary sidebar removal, not permanent !

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 7:03 pm
by bogus
Sorry, but I do NOT want to remove the sidebar permanently !

- dokuwiki is embedded via wrapURL into s9y.
- I only want to hide the sidebar if this wrapped Url is called !
- when clicking back to the blog (s9y), the sidebar should show up again.

As already mentioned, the g2embed-Plugin shows this behaviour:
- once I login into my embedded gallery2, the sidebar vanishes.
- if I logout from gallery2, the sidebar appears.

Any hints how to realize this ?

--
bye
bogus

Re: temporary sidebar removal, not permanent !

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:56 am
by garvinhicking
Hi!

For the other sidebars to "vanish" you would need to patch the wrapURL plugin.

I just did that in version 0.5 of the wrapurl plugin which should be avaialable latest tomorrow, where you can now configure whether to hide the sidebars.

HTH,
Garvin

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:12 pm
by bogus
Hi,
i'm using v0.6 of garvin's wrapUrl-plugin.
The wrapUrl-Option hides sidebar-items, but not the whole sidebar.

Would it be possible to apply the ccs-property "display: none" to serendipityLeftSideBar+serendipityRightSideBar while displaying the wrapUrl-iframe ?

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:09 pm
by garvinhicking
Hi!

Sadly that's not possible, because a plugin cannot simply insert CSS into the HTML output at that place. And it can't insert it into the main CSS file, because that one is cached and valid for all files. So you would need an extra template file for your wrapurl plugin.

Instead, just patch your index.tpl template file and use:

Code: Select all

{if $staticpage_pagetitle != 'pagetitle_of_your_wrapurl_plugin'}
{serendipity_printSidebar...}
{/if}
Using this IF-Statement, sidebars will then only be shown when the pagetitle is not the one of your wrapurl page.

Regards,
Garvin

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:21 am
by bogus
You're da man 8) , thanks a lot !

That did the trick:

Code: Select all

{if $staticpage_pagetitle != "name-of-my-wrapurl-page"}
    {if $leftSidebarElements > 0}
        <td id="serendipityLeftSideBar" valign="top">{serendipity_printSidebar side="left"}</td>
    {/if}
{/if}
{if $staticpage_pagetitle != "name-of-my-wrapurl-page"}
    {if $rightSidebarElements > 0}
        <td id="serendipityRightSideBar" valign="top">{serendipity_printSidebar side="right"}</td>
    {/if}
{/if}
(index.tpl in template-dir)

I'm happy now :lol: !

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:34 pm
by Ianardo
I'm trying to do this on the 'Bulletproof' template.
Please could someone tell me where I should insert this piece of code.

Many thanks
Ian

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:06 pm
by garvinhicking
Hi Ianardo!

Search for "printSidebar" inside the bulletproof index.tpl file. It might happen on multiple places because bulletproof has different layout variants.

Regards,
Garvin

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:15 pm
by Ianardo
Thanks Garvin
You're right - 16 variations of sidebar!!!

Am I right in thinking that I totally replace

Code: Select all

{if $rightSidebarElements > 0}{serendipity_printSidebar side="right"}{/if}
with the new code?

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:40 pm
by garvinhicking
Hi!

Yes, exactly. Maybe also the leftsidebar?

REgards,
Garvin

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:44 pm
by Ianardo
Thanks Garvin
I'll try it tomorrow.

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:18 pm
by Ianardo
No, couldn't get it to work.

It just gave exactly the same result as turning off the sidebar in the WrapUrl plugin :-(

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:30 pm
by garvinhicking
Hi!

Ah. Hehe. You're right, turning off the sidebar was added some time ago, this thread is already ages old.

So, what do you want to achieve then? Is hiding the sidebar not your goal? :-)

Regards,
Garvin

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:29 pm
by Ianardo
Yes I want to hide the sidebar, but it's pointless unless the content fills the whole width and uses the space left by the sidebar - It's for a forum and I could with the extra room.