custom CAPTCHAs?

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
mzltest

custom CAPTCHAs?

Post by mzltest »

As title.Just wondering how to use custom verification questions for replys as the built-in captcha (antispam plugin) seems to be to easy(some spam bots already cracked them and got filtered by akismet),while the reCaptcha plugin is not user-friendly in China(due to the block).

So,can we use custom questions for captcha(like SMF) and if yes,which plugin to install?
Moreover,is it possible to apply other types captcha without creating a plugin(as I have little php knowledge)
The main principle is easy - to check a token sent by $_POST before accepting a comment,but ...how to achieve that in this moduled action flow)

BTW: I believe the paths in s9y is absolute as I spent much effort to migrate my blog - finally done by reinstalling and reposting....
BTW #2: just wondering why don't use jquery on a cdn but using local version instead on almost all themes...
onli
Regular

Re: custom CAPTCHAs?

Post by onli »

It's best to not use a captcha at all. Use the plugins spamblockbee + spamblock_bayes together with the regular spamblock-plugin. That way you get a good protection against spam without killing the accessibility of your blog.
BTW #2: just wondering why don't use jquery on a cdn but using local version instead on almost all themes...
Using a generic CDNs leak your visitors IP addresses to random third parties, which is pretty much illegal in Europe (even if sites did not catch up to that yet). Hosting the JS files locally is much better in that regard.
mzltest

Post by mzltest »

onli wrote: Wed Dec 09, 2020 4:23 pm It's best to not use a captcha at all. Use the plugins spamblockbee + spamblock_bayes together with the regular spamblock-plugin. That way you get a good protection against spam without killing the accessibility of your blog.
Currently using akismet + ip frequency blocking.