editing templates

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
Bruce
Regular

editing templates

Post by Bruce »

I am sure there is more info someplace here on editing templates. I am new, so it seems very difficult to make changes as there seems to be several different tempates for main page. Just adding visitor tracking took some searching...

maybe a dumb question, but are there any plans to be able to edit templates within admin? As it is now it's editor and ftp again to make changes...and a lot of bloggers are used to editing them in admin.

Expect a new influx of users, Movable Type just released MT3 with draconian licensing requirements, and the talk everywhere is what to switch to... I'm recomending Serendipity over Wordpress.
I didn't do it
sol
Regular

Post by sol »

Hi Bruce,

I'm new to s9y too, but maybe can answer your question. When I first looked at s9y I too wanted to know how to edit the templates. Later on I discovered that most of the things I wanted to do can be done with the already existing plugins. Have you had a good look through the "Configure Plugins" section of the admin interface?

However I still wanted to include headers and footers to make that consistent with the rest of my site so I edited the templates I had chosen to use. In your s9y directory you should have a dir called 'templates'. This is where those tricky developers put the templates.;)

I was using the default (with a custom style sheet) so I edited templates/default/layout.php. It seems that you can't change everything here, but you can change quite a bit. Check it out.

This did the trick for me anyway. :)
Bruce
Regular

Post by Bruce »

Actually, just got home and was lookin over what I have done so far, especially to the menu...hmmm, if I can do that much in a day, in a few months it will be makin my coffee in the morning ;-)

I don't mind ftp and a learning curve when I am patient, which is...ummmm seldom? lol