Compared to Wordpress?

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
reywob

Compared to Wordpress?

Post by reywob »

Hi,

Just wondering (as I try to pick a PHP weblog tool to use instead of MT) whether anyone's done comparisons between Serendipity and WordPress (http://www.wordpress.org/)? Both look good, so I'd be interested in any feedback...

Thanks,
Peter
mscholz

Post by mscholz »

Yeah, I would be interested in that, too.
cmhw

Very brief comprison of Serendipity and Wordpress...

Post by cmhw »

I am a complete newbie to PHP weblogs, so I have been checking out a few of the opensource systems available. I want to include weblogs as part of my own website, offering a blog service to selected individuals.

PHPWeblog: Couldn't get this to install.

Serendipity: Simplest installation yet. Nice interface. Allows you to "embed" the weblog content within your own webpages - which is exactly what I want. Lacks an "admin" user option - all "authors" seem to be able to mess with database configuration options etc: NOT good!

Wordpress: Slightly buggy installation. Default interface not as clean as Serendipity (but you can play around with these things in both systems). Best feature is that users can be given different levels of authority to edit/add entries. But this is not documented.

My conclusions:

My inclination is to go with Serendipity - but it would be VERY helpful if they could add the facility to nominate an "admin" user. This would allow one person to administer the site - configure database settings etc - while other users ("authors" in Serendipity) would just be able to add/edit categories and blog entries.
Stuart Tannehill
Regular

I've used both

Post by Stuart Tannehill »

I prefer Serendipity.