Same sort of problem, but with RedHat 9

Having trouble installing serendipity?
Post Reply
insane66
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Same sort of problem, but with RedHat 9

Post by insane66 »

At first I was just getting the Serendipity Installation screen with nothing...
Then I tried the fix in the BSD page, that worked but after the check & save... nothing but the blue screen...

Soo I download the CVS version and try that
with no modification the first form pops up ...

When I fill out the form and click the check & save buttton
nothing seems to happen.. just get the blue serendipity installtion screen

I have Apache 2.0.40, PHP 4.3.5, MySQL 4.0.18 on a RH 9.0 system, and the serendipity off the CVS (from the 3rd I think?)

I have the directory with chmod -R 777 permissions for everything..

No error shows up normally... but in playing with it I occasionally get the first config screen to show back up with this warning at the top...
"Warning: unlink() failed (No such file or directory) in /var/www/html/s9y/serendipity_admin_installer.inc.php on line 187"

and in the apache error_log I occasionally get
"[Sun Apr 04 11:04:51 2004] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /var/www/html/s9y/serendipity_admin.phpnonexistant"

I dont know anything about PHP (but I am pretty good with the system) soo let me know how I can help you help me fix it ...
insane66
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

Still have same problems...

Post by insane66 »

downloaded today's CVS - today being 04-14-04

fill out the installtion form and click the "check & save" button and get this in return

<html>
<head>
<title>Serendipity Administration Suite</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="serendipity.css.php" />
</head>

<body id="serendipity_admin_page" onload="if (self.Spawnnugget) { Spawnnugget(); }">
<div id="serendipity_banner">
<h1></h1>

<h2>[You are: #0 , userlevel ]</h2>
</div>
<table id="mainpane">
<tr valign="top">
<td class="serendipity_admin">
<div class="serendipity_date">Serendipity installation</div>
<p>


got this error kicked into the error.log for apache

[Wed Apr 14 08:15:58 2004] [error] [client 68.34.208.203] File does not exist: /var/www/html/blog/serendipity_admin.phpnonexistant

I guess with the lack of reply this is either a stumper ... or I am just SOL!

how do i figure out where its hanging ?
doesnt appear to be building any tables in mysql or anything...
still using the same versions in the above post for apache, php, mysql...
insane66
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

ongoing troubles...

Post by insane66 »

ok .. soo tell me how to put in the equivalent of a printf statement ...

I'll figure out EXACTLY where the bugger stops if you just tell me how to get some dang output ...

I guess its nice that it doesnt flood me with data ...

im suspect that its around the .htaccess stuff ...
due to the fact that if i make a file called .htaccess it gets deleted with I run the install ... I never see one created if its not there...?

i know its not directory permissions ... ive tried just about all the combinations possible ...
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: ongoing troubles...

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

So you're using the 0.6.1-CVS, right (from april 14th)?

Then open your serendipity_functions_installer.inc.php file. Search for the function "function serendipity_printConfigTemplate".

There's straight at the beginning of the function this codeblock:

Code: Select all

            $sock = fsockopen(preg_replace('@^([^:]+):?.*$@', '\1', $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']), $_SERVER['SERVER_PORT'], $errorno, $errorstring, 10);
            $response = '';

            if ($sock) {
                fputs($sock, "GET {$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI']}nonexistant HTTP/1.0\n\n");
                while (!feof($sock) && strlen($response) < 4096) {
                    $response .= fgets($sock, 400);
                }
                fclose($sock);
            }
[/code}

Try to put a "die('Installer')" in front of the if-clause and see if the installer comes to that point. If so, move that die() clause the the end of the "if ($sock)" block and try again.

My guess is that you won't see that message, and that the fsockopen somehow fails on your machine.

Then please report back. :-) [I am not checking the forums often, so that could take a day or two]

Regards,
Garvin
insane66
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

found then hang

Post by insane66 »

it hangs on this if statement

if (!($c = @mysql_connect($hash['dbHost'], $hash['dbUser'], $hash['dbPass']))) {

in the serendipity_db_mysql.inc.php file

it never gets inside the if statement (tried to put the die first thing in the brackets)
and it doesnt make it past that if statement
put the die after the close bracket ...

guess this means im dumb and dont have all my parts of mysql installed/working? i guess....

any ideas on how to fix it ?
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: found then hang

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!
insane66 wrote: guess this means im dumb and dont have all my parts of mysql installed/working? i guess....
Do you use any other PHP applications using mysql that work? Like phpMyAdmin?

Else try a simple php Script:

Code: Select all

<?php
$c = mysql_connect($hostname, $user, $pass);
print_r($c);
echo mysql_error();
?>
And see if that works. Use the same values like you used in your s9y installation...
insane66
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:34 am
Location: Knoxville, TN

IT WORKS!!!

Post by insane66 »

ok ... freaking finally I have a working installation....

after using my own php script (as suggested) I figured out that mysql wasnt supported ...

I recompiled php explicitly telling it where mysql was ... still nothing ...

then ran a phpversion(); and it reported somthing different on the webserver ...

at which point I figured out that apache has a module loaded to handle php and none of the RPMS I could find had mysql support for php
so I set out to make my own new module
which lead to an upgrade of Apache (php didnt like 2.0.40 aparently)
and FINALLY I have everything working

THANKS FOR THE HELP!!!!
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: IT WORKS!!!

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!
insane66 wrote:THANKS FOR THE HELP!!!!
No problem at all, I'm sorry for having taken so long to reply. But all is well that ends well. :-)

Regards,
Garvin.
Post Reply