Lots of questions

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by yellowled »

monere wrote:Can you please tell me how to do it?
It can't ruin the code, and it's most likely a simple thing like adding // at the beginning and end of a particular line of code, or something like this. After all, PhP rules are the same for everyone :p
Well, you do not want to edit any core or template files for this since your changes would be overwritten with the next S9y update (since 2k11 is part of the S9y core). Also note that the changes I'm about to propose will only work for 2k11, not for any template.

Create a file called user.css with a text editor of your choice. In this file, add

Code: Select all

.category_link_all {
    display: none;
    visibility: hidden;
}
Don't forget to save. Upload this file to /templates/2k11/. Go to Appearance/Manage styles and set “Include user.css?” to “Yes”. Save again. Done.

That didn't really hurt, did it? :wink:

YL
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by yellowled »

Timbalu wrote:...not really, since it was live tested, given as new element rule through firebug, though it could have been more fintuned... :wink:
If you can hide an a element (All categories link) using an input selector, your CSS is much better than I thought. :-P

YL
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by yellowled »

monere wrote:But, what is AFAIK?
http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/AFAIK

YL
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Lots of questions

Post by Timbalu »

I do not want to overtake that thread... ;-)
I reloaded your page and the checkboxes and the GO are gone now, even without my little css tweak (best to be put in a user.css and enable using it in the themes config).

There isn't a drop down option AFAIK.

@YL send you an "e" for the finetune... ;-)
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by yellowled »

Timbalu wrote:I reloaded your page and the checkboxes and the GO are gone now, even without my little css tweak (best to be put in a user.css and enable using it in the themes config).
Because he switched them off altogether using the plugin's options, which makes much more sense than to hide them using CSS.

YL
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Lots of questions

Post by Timbalu »

yellowled wrote:
Timbalu wrote:I reloaded your page and the checkboxes and the GO are gone now, even without my little css tweak (best to be put in a user.css and enable using it in the themes config).
Because he switched them off altogether using the plugin's options, which makes much more sense than to hide them using CSS.
yellowled wrote:
yellowled wrote:Should disappear as well if you disable selecting multiple categories as described above.
Oops. No, it doesn't. In order to hide that link, you'd need to edit code.
Ah ok, then I must have misread your quote on that topic... I thought to have read that disabling this, did not do this correctly...
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

yellowled wrote:
monere wrote:Can you please tell me how to do it?
It can't ruin the code, and it's most likely a simple thing like adding // at the beginning and end of a particular line of code, or something like this. After all, PhP rules are the same for everyone :p
Well, you do not want to edit any core or template files for this since your changes would be overwritten with the next S9y update (since 2k11 is part of the S9y core). Also note that the changes I'm about to propose will only work for 2k11, not for any template.

Create a file called user.css with a text editor of your choice. In this file, add

Code: Select all

.category_link_all {
    display: none;
    visibility: hidden;
}
Don't forget to save. Upload this file to /templates/2k11/. Go to Appearance/Manage styles and set “Include user.css?” to “Yes”. Save again. Done.

That didn't really hurt, did it? :wink:

YL
Nope, it didn't hurt at all. And it worked beautifully too :D
Thanks!
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

yellowled wrote:
monere wrote:But, what is AFAIK?
http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/AFAIK

YL
Oh, LOL. And I thought it was a program/plugin of some kind :p.... Damn!
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

Ugh, sorry for having to ask this again but I still don't know how to add google analytics. Will a text/html widget do the trick (without being visible, obviously)?
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Lots of questions

Post by Timbalu »

Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

All I understood was that I have to add the tracking code before </body> in the index.tpl file :)
Am I missing something else?
kleinerChemiker
Regular
Posts: 765
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by kleinerChemiker »

Of course, you could use the google analytics plugin.
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

kleinerChemiker wrote:Of course, you could use the google analytics plugin.
:D Well, I still didn't check the plugins yet cause I am still playing with my dashboard trying to understand as much about SD as I can. But anyway, if there is such a plugin available I will definitely use it.

Cheers!
monere
Regular
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 1:24 am

Re: Lots of questions

Post by monere »

yellowled wrote:
Also note that there's a way to access the plugin repository from your backend which makes it much easier to install and update plugins and templates. That's the Spartacus plugin which comes with the S9y core. You'll probably want to install that first.

YL
I can't find the Spartacus plugin :)

Also, if I change the theme to a new one and then revert back to it, will it preserve its settings?

And speaking of themes, Kinetic is paid theme so I won't use it, and Mimbo remains to be checked out. Is there any other grid/magazine style theme among all those found on spartacus?

And one more thing: how do I install new themes? Currently I can only use the ones that are on my dashboard, but they are almost identical (only colors differ). And it seems that the themes present on spartacus.s9y.org are very different to the ones that came with the serendipity install. I need to check all those themes as well, but without downloading/FTP-ing them 1 by 1 cause that will take forever to check them all.

...

So yeah, these 4 things would be what I need to know:
- where to find the Spartacus plugin
- do themes preserve settings after de- and re-activation?
- how to upload/install themes the fastest way (probably through Spartacus plugin as well??)
- which other themes - besides Kinetic and Mimbo - are grid/magazine style?

Oh, wait! One more thing please: what is moblogging?? I noticed this word quite a few times on your websites and I have no idea what it means :D
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Lots of questions

Post by yellowled »

monere wrote:I can't find the Spartacus plugin :)
Appearance/Configure plugins → Click here to install a new event plugin → Backend: Features → Spartacus – if that's not there, something's wrong with your S9y installation since the Spartacus plugin is part of the S9y core.
monere wrote:Also, if I change the theme to a new one and then revert back to it, will it preserve its settings?
Yes.
monere wrote:And speaking of themes, Kinetic is paid theme so I won't use it, and Mimbo remains to be checked out. Is there any other grid/magazine style theme among all those found on spartacus?
http://spartacus.s9y.org/index.php?mode=template_all – you're going to have to try them out to see if anything fits your needs. Also http://yellowled.de/ports.html has some templates which are not on Spartacus.
monere wrote:And one more thing: how do I install new themes?
Either using the Spartacus plugin or by downloading them from Spartacus or another source, unzipping the zip file you downloaded and uploading the directory created by unzipping them to /templates/ of your installation by FTP, rsync or whatever your web server offers.
monere wrote:but without downloading/FTP-ing them 1 by 1 cause that will take forever to check them all.
That's why you'll want to use the Spartacus plugin.
monere wrote:One more thing please: what is moblogging?
You know, it wouldn't hurt if you'd google some things yourself before asking here. We appreciate the effort. :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_blogging

YL
Post Reply