Defacto theme style.css

Skinning and designing Serendipity (CSS, HTML, Smarty)
Don Chambers
Regular

Defacto theme style.css

Post by Don Chambers »

I'm very new to s9y. I have been reviewing all these great themes many of you have created......

I have noticed that there are dozens of different style.css sheets.... I understand why they differ from one another, but is any one of them the defacto standard, containing all variables, and ideally, having all those in a standard order? It is very difficult to compare one to another since many use, or omit, certain expressions, and others have those in very different order from one another.
Don Chambers
Regular

Post by Don Chambers »

I suppose I will start with the default. But allow me, a total noob, to offer the following observations:

Why, on earth, must there be a seemingly random order to the various styles within the style sheets? Can this be standardized? It is VERY difficult for a newbie like me to compare one sheet to another when these styles are in completely different order. Some are the first, second, etc, while the same style in a different theme might be on the second or 3rd PAGE.

The online tech documentation addresses some of the styles and variables, but nowhere near all of them. Seems like a minor undertaking for someone who really knows this stuff to get that up to date. And, before anyone mentions it, I will be more than happy to help where I can once I have a better understanding of this stuff.

How about a default template that has every single variable in use, with every single option included, even if many of those are commented out as not applicable.

I thought I could get well into my own theme design tonight, but I am tripping all over this stuff. I'm sure those of you who are experts in this stuff see right past the inefficiencies, but for someone brand new, this is frustrating.
d_cee
Regular

Post by d_cee »

Hi Owen