Is this style Possible with S9y?

Skinning and designing Serendipity (CSS, HTML, Smarty)
Post Reply
Night-Walker
Regular
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:05 pm

Is this style Possible with S9y?

Post by Night-Walker » Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:29 pm

Hi Iwant to realize one Layout like this:
[img=http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/6641/template2dt.th.jpg]
Is this Possible with S9y?

I can realize the Header, and sidebars but i don't know how to realize the Random Picture and this style of entrys...

User avatar
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30020
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Is this style Possible with S9y?

Post by garvinhicking » Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:42 pm

Yes, this is possible.

For the row alternation you'd have to learn Smarty syntax a bit, as the whole workflow in $entries.tpl needs to be modified.

But you can doo it all in the template.

Regards,
garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/

Night-Walker
Regular
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:05 pm

Post by Night-Walker » Thu Jul 28, 2005 6:11 pm

Maybe I'm too stupid but i can't work withe Smarty System :(
I've tried a really simple example but it doesn't work

I've replaced the text in entries.tpl with this:


Code: Select all

<!-- ENTRIES START -->
 {serendipity_hookPlugin hook="entries_header" addData="$entry_id"}
<table width="225" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
  <tr>
    <td width="400" height="27" valign="top" background="{$category.category_icon}"><span>{$entry.categories}</span></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td height="168" valign="top"><h4 class="serendipity_title"><a href="{$entry.link}">{$entry.title}</a></h4></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td height="149" valign="top">SUMMARY</td>
  </tr>
</table>       


But it doesn't work.
Smarty don't replace the {***} with anything.

(I've posted in a category with a category picture)

can someone say me what is wrong?

User avatar
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30020
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by garvinhicking » Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:13 pm

Yes, you need to copy all those {foreach} loops as well, because the variables only happen to exist within that loop.

I'm afraid there's a lot to learn to get this to work properly for a newbie. One other way would be to use CSS3, but since that is not supported everywhere it's not a real-life option.

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:25 am

I'm very interested in CSS3. Where can I find info?

I think I know enough about smarty, but don't see an easy way to do this layout. Uhm.. Do you think just with float divs and some css2 clases will work?

MySchizoBuddy
Regular
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:28 am

Post by MySchizoBuddy » Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:10 am

there is one guy who already has it done
he mentioned his site in the showcase. perhaps u can ask him if he will share it with you
Image

Post Reply