How to put title text into a table?

Skinning and designing Serendipity (CSS, HTML, Smarty)
Post Reply
Bugged
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:00 am

How to put title text into a table?

Post by Bugged »

Hi,

I'm currently using a chopped up version of the kubrick theme and have a logo on the left. I want to position the title text over to the right a bit from its current centre position. I figured it would be done with a table with 1 column set at 150px wide and 1 at 100% but all attemts to put the table code into the index.tpl has just resulted in a mess :/

Image

Here's the files I'm working with http://www.ianmaconline.com/dipity/style.zip & http://www.ianmaconline.com/dipity/index.zip and here's the one I've been getting in a mess with http://www.ianmaconline.com/dipity/index2.zip (lines 20-46).

Any pointers on where to put the code or what I need to change would be much appreciated.

TIA

Ian[/url]
tadpole
Regular
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 6:20 am
Location: 33°6'4.079" North, 117°3'6.563" West
Contact:

Post by tadpole »

This should be done with CSS, not a table. Change

Code: Select all

/*	Begin Headers */
h1 {
	padding-top: 70px;
	margin: 0;
	}

.description {
	text-align: center;
	}
to

Code: Select all

/*	Begin Headers */
h1 {
	padding-top: 70px;
	margin: 0 0 0 25%;
	}

.description {
	text-align: center;
	margin: 0 0 0 25%;
	}
Replacing '25%' with whatever you like.
Bugged
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:00 am

Post by Bugged »

Thanks for the reply Tadpole. I figured there may be a way to do it with CSS but I've not used it much so didn't try.

I followed what you said and replaced the code with

Code: Select all

/*   Begin Headers */ 
 h1 { 
    padding-top: 20px;  //<--should move the header up? was 70px
    margin: 0 0 0 25%; 
    } 

 .description { 
    text-align: center; 
    margin: 0 0 0 25%; 
    }
uploaded the new file and refrreshed the webpage ( www.macsdownunder.com ). The header moved up too far and didn't move left or right at all? So I figured I'd revert to the standard code and try again. uploaded the original code and refreshed my browser but the heading stayed up too high.

Figured its a cache problem so I tried a forced refresh, manually loaded the CSS file (looked OK). emptied my browsers cache, deleted "Templates_c" files, set the CSS permissions to 777 and the copy still sits too far up? Tried on a different PC (on the same network at work) and got exactly the same result.

Any ideas why a change would take effect once and then not again? I presume it's some sort of caching issue (something to do with Smarty?) but cant figure a workaround....
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by garvinhicking »

The style sheets are not cached or operated by Smarty. Thus everything you put inside style.css does take effect immediately.

Make sure you are uploading the right style.css of your actual template directory... there must be some mistake in the style.css process you performed. You did not change any *.tpl files, right?

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
Guest

Post by Guest »

Think I may have changed something in one of the *TPL's in an earlier attemt to adjust the hight of the header (now done in the CSS file) and it was this that was causing problems. I uploaded the corrected *.TPL and everythings working great now :) . All the heading is aligned how I want it and the header is at the right size.

Going to look into removing any references to trackbacks as the links will just confuse most of the people that are going to be looking at my site :)

Thanks for the help :)

Ian
Post Reply