Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Creating and modifying plugins.
Post Reply
MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:07 pm

Hi everyone,

I have a little problem with the syndication plugin under 2.0rc1. First, there is no space between the RSS-Icons of feeds and comments. When I'm logged in, there is a little space between them.

Second, when I deactivate the RSS for comments, it is still shown in the sidebar.

Regards
Mario

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:19 pm

Hm, seems to be a Firefox problem, when I use Chromium, the space is there. It seems also that there is more space between the icons in the category box above.
[edit]
I tested around with IE11 and Firefox on Windows. So Firefox under Linux is the only browser with the problem. So i would say, that there is only the second problem left. :?

User avatar
onli
Regular
Posts: 2254
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by onli » Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:18 pm

Hi Mario
You set the option feed for comments in the plugin to "no" and the icon/line still appears?

The difference between the category and the syndication plugin is probably coming from the different sizes of the images in your theme. Firefox under Linux is showing me a space between the icons, that must be something specific.

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:17 pm

You set the option feed for comments in the plugin to "no" and the icon/line still appears?
Exactly.
Firefox under Linux is showing me a space between the icons, that must be something specific.
Yes, I will try to find out. :)

Regards
Mario

User avatar
onli
Regular
Posts: 2254
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by onli » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:10 pm

Kannst du einen Screenshot deiner Einstellungen machen? Vielleicht ist es eine bestimmte Kombination, denn bei mir funktioniert es.
In die Runde: Kann den Fehler sonst jemand auf seinem Blog reproduzieren?

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:38 pm

Oh, ist mein Englisch so schlecht? :oops:

Anbei der Screenshot mit den momentanen Einstellungen, den Text für den Kommentarfeed hatte ich auch schon mal rausgenommen.
Attachments
s9ysynd.png
s9ysynd.png (47.53 KiB) Viewed 3296 times

User avatar
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7074
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by yellowled » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:00 pm

Please keep it in English or switch to the German forum. Thanks. :P

YL
amazon Wishlist - Serendipity-Podcast (German only, sorry)

User avatar
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7074
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by yellowled » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:03 pm

I can not reproduce this in Firefox/OS X using a vanilla 2k11 frontend in my dev blog. Then again, I'm not really sure what Mario means exactly. Could you maybe make a screenshot of the spacing issue?

YL
amazon Wishlist - Serendipity-Podcast (German only, sorry)

User avatar
onli
Regular
Posts: 2254
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by onli » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:16 pm

MarioH wrote:Oh, ist mein Englisch so schlecht? :oops:
No, sorry - I sometimes not realize anymore which language I speak since moving to France.

Maybe it's the name for the comment feed, but that is not how I remember the code. A strange bug.

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:17 pm

Finally, the problem shown in the picture below only appears in Firefox on my Kubuntu Machine.

No other browser (including firefox) on other OS I have here for testing shows this problem.

Maybe it's a problem with the firefox profile or an Addon.

Regards
Mario
Attachments
s9ysynd1.png
s9ysynd1.png (4.03 KiB) Viewed 3292 times

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:25 pm

@onli
I just deleted the field, but the Comment-RSS is still showing up.

User avatar
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7074
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by yellowled » Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:28 pm

MarioH wrote:No other browser (including firefox) on other OS I have here for testing shows this problem.

Maybe it's a problem with the firefox profile or an Addon.
Oh, you were talking about vertical spacing. That explains my confusion at least (but I still can't reproduce it). My guess would be some browser-specific settings in that particular Firefox – might be (minimum) font-size or something.

Also, try clearing your browser cache in said Firefox. For some reason, either the RSS icon is too large or the font is too small. Hard to say without being able to reproduce it.

YL
amazon Wishlist - Serendipity-Podcast (German only, sorry)

MarioH
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Syndication Plugin Problem with 2.0rc1

Post by MarioH » Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:02 pm

@YL
It was the font size, which was at 14pt, when I set it to the firefox standard of 16pt, the vertikal spacing is correct.

Thanks
Mario

Post Reply