One more...syndication

Creating and modifying plugins.
Post Reply
n2ition
Regular
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

One more...syndication

Post by n2ition » Thu Apr 21, 2005 11:14 pm

This may have absolutely nothing to do with s9y...but it's the logical place to start. I have the blog set up for syndication and since I have yahoo as my home page I added the blog to my newsfeeds just to get a feel for how long it takes to show up. Here's my issue. I have yahoo configured to show the last 3 headlins but it is only showing 1. Furthermore it only shows it for a couple of hours at the most then drops it and shows "now new posts in the last minute". Is there something I should be doing on my blog that tells the various syndicators how long to show my current and previous headlines for? All the other blogs that are syndicated on my yahoo page are showing up just find (3 headlines over several days.)

TIA
The good news is the bad news is wrong! Random Kindness Project

User avatar
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30020
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: One more...syndication

Post by garvinhicking » Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:14 am

Everything's right on your side.

The Yahoo aggregator seems buggy though. You could ask them if they pay regard to proper Conditional Get caching.

You can try to subscribe to your feed with http://yourblog/rss.php?version=2.0&nocache=true
which effectively bypasses caching on s9y side, so that buggy implementations do not fail.

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/

Greg

turn off caching completely?

Post by Greg » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:21 pm

Hey guys, s9y noob here :)

Is there any way to completely turn off caching in rss.php?

This is for a simple project, with about 10-12 articles that I update as needed.
It seems to work perfectly for a normal installation, caching is gong to be a problem for this one though.

If I can just turn it off, I'm a happy camper :)

Thanks a bunch, Greg

Guest

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:25 pm

P.S. the reason I'm asking...

I hate to mess up those beautiful .rss URLs w/&nocache=true

If I don't have to? ;)

Thanx again

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:01 am

kept searching & found it @ http://www.s9y.org/42.html I think?

If you want to permanently disable that feature (whatever the reasons are) you can either set a "$_REQUEST['nocache'] = true" inside your rss.php file (first line) or append the '&nocache=true' request variable to your feed so that it looks like:

http://example.host/serendipity/rss.php ... cache=true.


We'll see if it works now?

love s9 ;)

Post Reply