Page 1 of 2

Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:26 pm
by Bla
After upgrading to s9y 1.7.4 the plugin_event_update page is nearly empty, here you can see the whole source code:

Code: Select all

<h2>Ereignis-Plugins</h2>
<br />
<div class="serendipityAdminMsgNotice"><img style="width: 22px; height: 22px; border: 0px; padding-right: 4px; vertical-align: middle" src="/templates/default/admin/img/admin_msg_note.png" alt="" />Versuche URL <a href="http://netmirror.org/mirror/serendipity/package_event_de.xml">package_event_de.xml</a> zu öffnen...</div>
<div class="serendipityAdminMsgSuccess"><img style="height: 22px; width: 22px; border: 0px; padding-right: 4px; vertical-align: middle" src="/templates/default/admin/img/admin_msg_success.png" alt="" />470199 bytes von bereits bestehender Datei geladen. Speichere Inhalt als /[…]/templates_c/package_event_de.xml...</div>
<br /><br />
That's all. The plugin_sidebar_update page shows up normally. So does the blog.

Coming from 1.7.3 I took the autoupdater without any error. PHP is 5.2.17. The last plugins update was some days before.

What I did:
- cleared browser cache (Safari)
- took another browser (Fx)
- emptied the templates_c folder
- looked at the server's error log (no matching entry)
- did a second full update with force overwrite FTP
No effort.

My plugins list follows. Looking for an easy way to do this.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:05 pm
by Timbalu
Hi

That is odd, I see.
Btw, if the update was done by autoupdater, no further FTP would have been needed.

I updated several installations this sunday from differing older versions to different servers without any problems so far. So it must be some special environment case, in your case.

I would wait until tomorrow, to see if the event package list gets a new update and solves this issue.
If that does not happen, I would try to change the mirror and download location in spartacus, which forces to fetch a new sync file. You could check if the file package_event_de.xml in templates_c is empty too, though.

Is that the same as in the sidebar plugin list and for templates, or only in event plugins list?

At last, it could still be a unknown matter of your PHP version. If your are able, try to get a better one, ie. some PHP 5.3 or 5.4 versions. But this would be something for tomorrow, when there is no other idea left.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:29 pm
by Bla
Hi, it's me, one day later.

Today I tried to update the event plugins again but the problem still remains. And yes, it's only the events plugin update. Sidebar update and templates work well.
I changed the two servers in Spartacus plugin, nothing,
I disabled all event plugins one after another, nothing.
Changing php version would be possible but will take some time cause I have to move to another server with my hoster

Regards.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:37 pm
by Timbalu
Hmm very strange,

Changing hoster is an option at the very last! (Since we don't know if that would solve your issue.)

Please check if the file "package_event_de.xml" in templates_c is empty too.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - I read you post again

EDIT: I'm still trying to get your problem and need to verify, I really did get the essence of this issue.

You are trying to say, that your plugin list is OK, but the event plugin updater (page) is missing some (text and form) parts, right?

The missing text (in red) would be:
Event Plugins

Trying to open URL package_event_en.xml...
[image:success] Fetched 467372 bytes from the URL above. Saving file as /blah/blah/templates_c/package_event_en.xml...
[image:success] Data successfully fetched.
<br /><br />
Hint: You can upgrade multiple plugins at once by clicking the update-link with your middle mouse button, so that it opens in a new window/tab of your browser. Note that upgrading all plugins automatically could lead to network timeouts and garbaged files, thus this functionality does not exist intentionally.

[And here the FILTER select form BOX for plugins, which would be set to NEW.]
After this you normally find a list of plugins that need to be updated, or nothing, if there aren't any.
(The blue br breaks, which show up at the end of your code snip normally appear here in source)

If THAT really is your issue, did you check if Spartacus is installed, enabled and is the same as shipped by release (including lang files etc)?

AND/OR what do you expect to find?

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:22 am
by garvinhicking
Could you show a screenshot of the whole page, or even better, a HTML dump of the output? I imagine that you could be seeing a page that is ending right in the middle, which would point to a fatal PHP error that is surpressed in the output. If that is the case we could try to search for the fatal PHP error inside a PHP/CGI error log. It could also be a matter of memory limit exhaustion, since it works with sidebar plugins (which require far less memory to parse)...

Regards,
Garvin

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:26 pm
by Bla
Timbalu wrote:Changing hoster is an option at the very last! (Since we don't know if that would solve your issue.)
not changing the hoster, but just the server. But I can already use PHP 5.4, as my hoster told me today. Just have to enable it via .htaccess. I will try that next.
Timbalu wrote:Please check if the file "package_event_de.xml" in templates_c is empty too
no, it was not empty.
Timbalu wrote:You are trying to say, that your plugin list is OK, but the event plugin updater (page) is missing some (text and form) parts, right?
yes.
Timbalu wrote:The missing text (in red) would be:
Event Plugins …
yes, I know. The whole(!) source code is shown in my first post above.
Timbalu wrote:After this you normally find a list of plugins that need to be updated, or nothing, if there aren't any.
there was no list.
Timbalu wrote:If THAT really is your issue, did you check if Spartacus is installed, enabled and is the same as shipped by release (including lang files etc)?
for sure, Spartacus was installed and works just as expected for sidebar plugins and themes.

But,
after enabling php errors (I forgot that I disabled them…) there's more:

Code: Select all

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /[…]/plugins/serendipity_event_textile/serendipity_event_textile.php on line 279

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /[…]/plugins/serendipity_event_textile/serendipity_event_textile.php on line 279

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /[…]/plugins/serendipity_event_textile/serendipity_event_textile.php on line 279
Deleting the serendipity_event_textile folder was the quick solution. Why does it not show up in the installed plugin list?

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:30 pm
by Bla
garvinhicking wrote:Could you show a screenshot of the whole page, or even better, a HTML dump of the output?
The whole source code is mentioned in my first post above. Now there are the three php errors added mentioned in my post above.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:20 pm
by Timbalu
Ahhhh merde! you have textile....

I have updated the textile plugin between years (http://board.s9y.org/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19670) and wanted to be polite and changed my first code, setting a general required PHP 5.3 version in textiles class description further down, to let PHP 5.2 users at least stick with the textile lib2 version.
This now errors, since I seem to never learn that a version compare is not executed, when the code is (pre)-included, before it is executed on usage.

OK, please check 5 possibilities:

Change the required version to 2 on line 94, which looks like $propbag->add('default', 3);

If that still errors:
Move the case 3 block lines 274-286 underneath the case 2 block.

If that also errors, we can unset these two again and remove line 279 to a new file called textile_namespace.inc.php

Code: Select all

<?php

// workaround for PHP 5.2.x versions to not error while reading code before executing
$textile = $this->get_config('textile_doctype') ? new \Netcarver\Textile\Parser('html5') : new \Netcarver\Textile\Parser();

?>
and include this file on place with

Code: Select all

                    include_once 'textile_namespace.inc.php'; // PHP 5.2 compat
If that still does not solve your issue, copy this old version file
https://raw.github.com/s9y/Serendipity/ ... extile.php
to your plugins/serendipity_event_textile/ directory, to overwrite the newly updated plugin class file.

OR update your PHP version, since we announced for the Serendipity 1.7 release, in first quarter 2012:
As of August 2011, all PHP users should note, that the PHP 5.2 series is NOT supported anymore by the PHP developers. All users are strongly encouraged to upgrade to PHP 5.3.8 and up. Please refer to your ISP about this.
In 2014 we would definitely recommend at least a 5.4.x version!

Sorry for this! I fear you will have to use step 4 or 5 solely!

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:27 pm
by Bla
Timbalu wrote:Ahhhh merde! you have textile….
yes and no. It's in the plugins folder, but _not_ in the list of installed plugins. So I cannot disable it and have to remove it, to get rid of it. I don't think that I need it.
Timbalu wrote: If that also errors, we can unset these two again and remove line 279 to a new file called textile_namespace.inc.php
This does the trick.
Timbalu wrote:In 2014 we would definitely recommend at least a 5.4.x version!
Yes yes and as I wrote above, now I can. But the first attempt leads to a database connect error (same with Piwik, too). I just wrote to my hoster to solve this problem.
Edit: I had to change the dbType from myqsli to mysql. Now my s9y runs fine with php 5.4.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:11 am
by Timbalu
Bla wrote:
Timbalu wrote:~remove line 279 to a new file called textile_namespace.inc.php and include that on place
This does the trick.
Really? Then no error occurs and all is well?
I don't understand that PHP load logic inside, while these plugins are included too somehow.
So if that is the case, you (we) can also leave the file as is and set the class PHP version requirement to 5.3.0 on line 21. That would be the best solution for all those, who upgraded, but did not use (have had installed) the textile plugin before. Can you check this too, please?

@Garvin, any suggestions how we shall handle this? This will break for all PHP 5.2 users, which upgrade to 1.7.4

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:28 am
by garvinhicking
Hi!
@Garvin, any suggestions how we shall handle this? This will break for all PHP 5.2 users, which upgrade to 1.7.4
Yeah, we'll need a 1.7.5 because of this. I'll try to do this on Friday or Saturday, I won't have time earlier to do this.

Regards,
Garvin

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:31 am
by garvinhicking
I just added a note for this problem to the blog post and the download page.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:08 pm
by Timbalu
I am sorry for this. Can you check the best 5.2 workaround for this? I tried to test this myself and installed an old version from the php museum, but without luck, since it lacked some other things needed to run on my local system.

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:27 pm
by garvinhicking
Hi Timbalu,

the "textile_namespace.inc.php" version looks good to me.

Regards,
Garvin

Re: Broken plugin event update page after 1.7.4 update

Posted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:51 pm
by Timbalu
Commited,
...looks or tested and found good? (Since I still don't really get why this makes such a difference for PHP?)