Error 500 on all static pages

Found a bug? Tell us!!
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by Timbalu »

Code: Select all

get unexpected signal 11
error
This does not need to be singulary a PHP bug, as I found someone say:
I'm pretty sure "signal 11″ is a segmentation fault, which would seem to indicate an invalid memory access attempt. I've found the most common issues to be:

Incorrect File/Folder Permissions,
Bad Code, or Incorrect Syntax in the .htaccess File, or...
Incorrect php.ini Configuration
Ups, pagebreak. Please read prev posts!
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

Timbalu wrote:Where does /s9y.netzgestaltung.net/ live in your uberspace environment?
/var/www/virtual/<USER>/s9y.netzgestaltung.net – that's the proposed way to use subdomains on Uberspace.
Timbalu wrote:Is the shown one the correct path, without /html/ ?
Yes.
Timbalu wrote:You could try if it has some content in your 2k11 config.inc.
I don't know how to do that.
Timbalu wrote:As you can see, the DOC_ROOT points to your root domain, so it might be necessary to do that already described htaccess thing to auto prepend the foo file […] Did you have already tried this?
I just did. If I add the php_value line to my .htaccess, all pages of the blog throw a 500.
Timbalu wrote:Shouldn't it be gid: (698/<USER>) also?
Don't you think they would've noticed themselves if those values were wrong while sending me that log file excerpt via email?
Incorrect File/Folder Permissions,
Bad Code, or Incorrect Syntax in the .htaccess File, or...
Incorrect php.ini Configuration
Let's see … on Uberspace, suExec takes care of permissions. I'm pretty sure that's not it. Bad code would be bad s9y code, right? :wink: I never messed with the php.ini there, so that can't be it. It could be .htaccess stuff. I'll check that next by uncommenting everything but the stuff required by s9y.

YL
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

yellowled wrote:It could be .htaccess stuff. I'll check that next by uncommenting everything but the stuff required by s9y.
Nope, it doesn't work with the .htaccess stuff uncommented.

It still puzzles me that this

– does not work on 1.7-RC4/PHP 5.4.11
does work on 1.6.2/PHP 5.4.11
does work on 1.7-RC4/PHP 5.3.21
does work on 1.6.2/PHP 5.3.21

(all of those are on Uberspaces)

YL
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by Timbalu »

yellowled wrote:I don't know how to do that.

Code: Select all

echo 'S9Y_DATA_PATH: '.S9Y_DATA_PATH;
All those puzzles need to add this is only on (uberspace) subdomains.

I think I fired all I can... now having some sun!
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

Timbalu wrote:

Code: Select all

echo 'S9Y_DATA_PATH: '.S9Y_DATA_PATH;
Oh. Turns out I did know how to do that. I just did it in the wrong config.inc.php. However, this gives me
S9Y_DATA_PATH: S9Y_DATA_PATH
so I'm not sure this really is the way it's supposed to be …?
Timbalu wrote:All those puzzles need to add this is only on (uberspace) subdomains.
Uhm, I forgot: The 1.6.2 blog is not on a subdomain. I could set up a 1.6.2 blog on a subdomain if that helps?

YL
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

Since this is a rather specific setup, I would love to get FTP/SSH access to an install to debug the whole pageflow. I would add die/exit statements at all points of the execution flow, and move them one step further on each pagecall, until I get to the point where the HTTP 500 would occur.

Doing that by mail or personal instruction would surely take about 30-40 cycles, over the course of many days, while with access it should be a matter of 30 minutes to figure it out.

For this, I need to be able to reproduce it on my own (I don't have uberspace anymore, I would not like to apply for an account again).

Best regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

garvinhicking wrote:(I don't have uberspace anymore, I would not like to apply for an account again)
I'll see what I can do and contact you via email.

YL
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

yellowled wrote:I'll see what I can do and contact you via email.
Sooo … again, some text by Garvin from a little debugging session just now which I am supposed to dump here for you guys to read (especially, but not only, Timbalu and onli to check out and follow up on this).

Unfortunately, it's in German and I will not translate it because I don't even understand it in German. Sorry. :)
Ich habe deine plugindatei so gepatcht dass ich überall an Stellen wo ein function &xxx() vorkommt, ich nur noch ein function xxx() benutze; auch in ein paar Zuweisungen habe ich ein =& herausgenommen für ein einfaches =.

Früher zu PHP4-Zeiten hat man das sehr oft gemacht um bei Objekten sicherzustellen dass keine Kopie, sondern eine Referenz angelegt wird, damit also alle Änderungen am Inhalt eines Objekts (bzw. einer Klassenvariablen) auch durchgängig überall verfügbar sind.

In dem staticpage plugin ist das etwas übermäßig eingesetzt, und referenziert sich so zu tode, was wohl für die Speicherkorruption mit neuem PHP5 verantwortlich ist. Tendentiell KANN es aber sein dass ich da jetzt zu viele & sachen herausgenommen habe, das müsste man jetzt nochmal genauer prüfen. Am ehesten kann jetzt nämlich passieren dass andere Plugins die auf Inhalte noch verändernd zugreifen (think: Markuppplugins) diese zwar verändern, aber das mit einer Kopie der Variablen machen, und das verloren geht.

Bitte poste am besten mal den Diff von deinem Plugin als Diskussionsgrundlage, und dann müsste man das eigentlich mal in ein paar installationen und fällen testen und danach auch natürlich gerne committen, nur konnte ich jetzt nicht so viel testen. Im Diff das ganze "no more &" muss man nicht zwangsläufig committen, das war nur damit man die Stellen leichter findet
(diff will follow, I have to remember how to do that first.)

YL
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

So I wanted to put the diff in a GitHub gist for you guys. All nice and shiny with syntax highlighting and all. Well, GitHub gists is being a bit iffy right now, so you're gonna have to work with this for the time being.

[deleted]

I hope that's okay, I haven't made a diff in a very long time. :mrgreen:

Edit: GitHub finally fixed my gists account. https://gist.github.com/yellowled/5145830

YL
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by Timbalu »

thanks noting! tztztztz oh these fu.... &references keep corrupting my mind...
I wouldn't have come up with this... :roll:
But if references are pointers to the same origin object, how come they can reference it to death...?
And why did this only happen in a (US) subdomain situation...?

Garvin, the newly assigned $svars does not exist, does it?!
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by Timbalu »

Timbalu wrote:But if references are "pointers" to the same origin object, how come they can reference it to death...?
And why did this only happen in a (US) subdomain situation...?

Garvin, the newly assigned $svars does not exist, does it?!
How are we going to handle (officially) these changes now?
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

Was the patch committed already? I'd say it should work without those references; if it doesn't we'll need help from users of the plugin to see what no longer works. But I think it should work ;)

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by Timbalu »

No. Who should have done that, else the one that has fixed and discovered the issues? :wink:
I only wanted to know why this could happen to error in a subdomain install only and if the assigned $svars is a debugging leftover.
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

OK, thanks for the heads-up. Committed, and removed the leftover debugging svars!

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
yellowled
Regular
Posts: 7111
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Eutin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Error 500 on all static pages

Post by yellowled »

If you guys need further testing on this, please remind me after the Easter holidays. I'm pretty much buried until then.

YL
Post Reply