New Gal on the block - some basic set up questions

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
robynann
Regular

New Gal on the block - some basic set up questions

Post by robynann »

Hi I'm the new gal on the block here I guess and I'm a beginner to all of this blogging and setting up blogs..

I have been trying out blogs for the last two weeks and I am totally frustrated.. I first of coarse went to Word Press, I got so confused with php and css and all of that coding jargon. I asked questions on their forum, trying to basically set up. I got answers telling me that wordpress org. was not for me..

okay I went to Nucleus - great tech support and I learned alot but not so user friendly to a beginner.. everytime I want to change or add something seems I must go to the techs..

installed my hosts own version using word press.. was great but no widgets, plugin or any tweaking can be done...

now totally frustrated I come to serendipity.. I managed to already get a custom banner up.. woooo hoooo that took a tech telling me what to do in nucleus!

and even managed to install a plug in - major major celebration

but now I'm stuck.. can I add things like a) Slide shows, b)music and
most importantly I need someplace on the sideboard where I can c) link many many different blinkies of other blogs like myself . It is our way of advertising. also with that in mind I want on the sidebar d) a section for my favorite sites.. all clicable links

I want to be able to do these codings without the expert help of a tech every single time I have a new blinkie to put up or come across a great site..

Hope I have made myself clear about what I need, someone to direct me how to do these things and once done let me do it, don't make it so complicated that I won't be able to just put in simple html code and yes that is what I would like to work with if at all possible, html