Getting 500 internal server error when posting

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
Post Reply
carl_galloway
Regular
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Andalucia, Spain
Contact:

Getting 500 internal server error when posting

Post by carl_galloway » Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:10 pm

Hi everyone,

I've suddenly started getting a 500 Internal Server Error when I save my posts, actually I can't save them because I get the error.

I haven't changed anything, and up till 2 days ago everything was working. No new plugins, no updates nothing, but I get this error.

The error doesn't happen when I create a new post if the post is only a few characters long, but as soon as I create a longer post, more than 100 words, I get the error. I got my host to check the logs and they can't find anyhing, no errors in their logs, but no solution either.

Has anyone had anything similar or give me an idea where to look for the problem?

Cheers

Carl

User avatar
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30020
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Getting 500 internal server error when posting

Post by garvinhicking » Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:17 pm

Hi!

Might be one of your spamblock plugin options? Check the Apache CGI Errorlog, it should give more clues about a HTTP 500 error.

A 500 error *MUST* show up in the Apache Access Logs. If not, the server is not configured with default settings. Your provider must then set the "ErrorLog" directive inside the apache httpd vhost container.

It might also be related to event plugins like weblogping, or others. It can be an "out of memory", it can be a timeout.

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/

carl_galloway
Regular
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Andalucia, Spain
Contact:

Post by carl_galloway » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:29 pm

Thanks Garvin,

I gave the host guys your reply and they were able to fix the problem, I think there was a memory stack problem or something like that.

Everythings working again, yay!

Post Reply