Trouble getting Serendipity to work after (re-)installation

Having trouble installing serendipity?
Karbargenbok
Regular

Trouble getting Serendipity to work after (re-)installation

Post by Karbargenbok »

Hello,

An old Serendipity installation I built years ago suddenly developed problems when the provider changed "some things" on the server (they haven't exactly been helpful).

I have managed to partially reinstall the blog by overwriting the files with a 1.7.8 installation, but I'm still experiencing major problems:

* I cannot login to the control panel (even after deleting serendipity_config_local.inc.php and changing the mod_rewrite settings, re-checking the password, etc.)
* No styles are applied and I'm getting lots of PHP-errors

So basically the blog is a mess now, but thankfully the database seems completely intact.

The blog is located at http://wumswebsite.nl/wumlog/. I'm an amateur when it comes to CMS's and haven't worked with them in years (doing this to help a friend who owns the site), so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
thh
Regular

Re: Trouble getting Serendipity to work after (re-)installat

Post by thh »

Karbargenbok wrote:* I cannot login to the control panel (even after deleting serendipity_config_local.inc.php and changing the mod_rewrite settings, re-checking the password, etc.)
"Cannot login" means your password is not accepted? The login screen seems to work.
Karbargenbok wrote:* No styles are applied and I'm getting lots of PHP-errors
The site looks "stylish" and the CSS seems to be loaded?
Karbargenbok
Regular

Post by Karbargenbok »

Cannot login" means your password is not accepted? The login screen seems to work.
Yes, that's what I mean. The password is not accepted, even though I just created the new administrator account (by reinstalling).
The site looks "stylish" and the CSS seems to be loaded?
Sounds crazy, but this just randomly started working. I guess the webhost is still changing things around.