Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Having trouble installing serendipity?
JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:20 pm

Hi forum,

I hope someone can help.

I just moved my blog from one ISP to another ISP, and upgraded from 1.6.2 to 1.7.8.

Here is my blog: http://www.hydraulisktidende.dk/

Everything works, except static pages which are all blank, e.g.: http://www.hydraulisktidende.dk/index.php?/tidende.html

Any one knows what the problem can be?

Regards and happy new year,
Jonas

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:21 pm

Hi

Changing servers normally brings up path change problems.
Did you check up the staticpages path settings? And has the staticpage database tables migrated too?

btw, your nav looks like

Code: Select all

<tr>        
  <td>
    <div id="navcontainer">
      <ul id="navlist">
      <li><a href="http://www.hydraulisktidende.dk/index.php?/abonnement.html">Abonnement</a></li>
      <li><a href="http://www.hydraulisktidende.dk/index.php?/tidende.html">Om Tidende</a></li>
      <li id="active"><a href="http://www.hydraulisktidende.dk/">Forside</a></li>
      </ul>
    </div>
  </td>
</tr>
you should remove the useless table row/cell container.

Code: Select all

<tr>        
  <td>

  </td>
</tr>
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:48 pm

And.., as I just remembered, maybe templates_c/staticpage_pagelist.dat could be involved too, holding some old ISP data. Just delete it to get a new one.
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:06 pm

Hi,

I have checked static page "Permalink", it says: /index.php?/tidende.html
So I expect that is correct, right?

Not sure what you mean by "staticpage database tables migrated too"?
I just dumped the sql from the old server, and imported it into the db of the new server.
When looking into the db field "permalink" it reflects what I can see from the frontend: /index.php?/tidende.html

Deleted the "templates_c/staticpage_pagelist.dat", and it created a new one.

Still the static pages are blank :(

About the nav, it is not a template I created, so unsure about fiddling with it ...

Br,
Jonas

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:11 pm

What about the "/templates_c/<template_dir>/", can I delete that? And will it create a new one for me?
Just to ensure that no old ISP data is there?

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:44 pm

Also, I deleted the file "/templates_c/btemplate.php/" as my new ISP claimed to have identified it as a potential hacker file (don't know why). But since I could not see the file in the 1.7.8 version then I deleted it. Is that ok, or is it needed?

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:43 pm

JonasBang wrote:I have checked static page "Permalink", it says: /index.php?/tidende.html
So I expect that is correct, right?
If it was correct before, like google cache says. and you did not change the url rewrite setting, it should be ok now too.
JonasBang wrote:Not sure what you mean by "staticpage database tables migrated too"?
I just dumped the sql from the old server, and imported it into the db of the new server.
When looking into the db field "permalink" it reflects what I can see from the frontend: /index.php?/tidende.html
I was asking, if this dump included the staticpage database tables too?
In this dump, did you change all fullpath value occurences eg /server1/path/to/s9y/etc/ to /newserver/path/to/s9y/etc/ ?
Can you access

Code: Select all

SELECT *
FROM `serendipity_staticpages`
LIMIT 0 , 30
with PhpMyAdmin? And, does it contain everything you want it to have? Also check if the authorid - possibly 1 as admin - is the same as you currently have and earlier had before.
JonasBang wrote:What about the "/templates_c/<template_dir>/", can I delete that? And will it create a new one for me?
Just to ensure that no old ISP data is there?
Yes! This is a good idea to do on migration changes.
JonasBang wrote:Also, I deleted the file "/templates_c/btemplate.php/" as my new ISP claimed to have identified it as a potential hacker file (don't know why). But since I could not see the file in the 1.7.8 version then I deleted it. Is that ok, or is it needed?
That for sure looks like a hacked file. Nothing like that or "/templates_c/template.php/" exists.
(It reminds me to this http://board.s9y.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=20034)
JonasBang wrote:I just moved my blog from one ISP to another ISP, and upgraded from 1.6.2 to 1.7.8.
Before you did this, did you upgrade all plugins first (or even afterwards)?
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:25 pm

[.. Sorry I accidently deleted the rest of your answer... ..]
(Ian)
JonasBang wrote:
Timbalu wrote:
JonasBang wrote:I just moved my blog from one ISP to another ISP, and upgraded from 1.6.2 to 1.7.8.
Before you did this, did you upgrade all plugins first (or even afterwards)?
Nope, I have not updated my plugins, how to do that the easiest? Do I need to manually download latest zip file of each plugin which I have installed on the site, and ftp overwrite those to my site? Or are there a "update plugins" button somewhere?
Yes. This is SPARTACUS ([S]erendipity [P]lugin [A]ccess [R]epository [T]ool [A]nd [C]ustomization/[U]nification [S]ystem).

We have it online via web http://spartacus.s9y.org/ and as an event plugin, delivered by release, which needs to get installed first.

This plugins checks our online repositories once a day for updates and sets 2 new buttons on top of the plugins content section 'New versions of sidebar plugins' and 'New version of event plugins'. If there is anything ready to update (which possibly is in your case) you'll find one click upgrade links in them.

Regards,
Ian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:41 pm

I could also start all over and try to restore once again the 1.6.2 backup from the old ISP, and test if static pages works with the new ISP without upgrading to 1.7.8.

Would that make sense to do ??

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:03 pm

JonasBang wrote:I could also start all over and try to restore once again the 1.6.2 backup from the old ISP, and test if static pages works with the new ISP without upgrading to 1.7.8.

Would that make sense to do ??
Not really, since that was a compromised system...! If we really do not get it to run we can go the even better way and upload a complete new release zip and delete the old dirs and files before by just keeping the serendipity_config_local.inc.php file, the .htaccess file, your templates/hydra (checked for vulnerables) dir template, the /uploads dir (also checked) and install a new staticpage plugin and others you might need and use by hand. This would asure to not keep any compromised files. After that you could probably just continue.

Edit: Ups very sorry I accidently edited you answer post (see 2 above) supposing it was my answer in a new post. So I deleted bigger parts of your answer. This was not intentional!
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:54 pm

Installed SPARTACUS, but when I go to 'New versions of sidebar plugins' and 'New version of event plugins' no plugins gets listed as having an update ready. And since I have Static Pages 3.74 installed, and latest is 4.07.2, something doesn't seem to work.

Also, the blog is set to Danish language. I tried to change it to English (to better follow your instructions, its easier when it is in the same language), but I'm unable to change to English.

And, as you state, it was compromised once, a few years back as far as I can recall, but I assumed that I had fixed it then.

So, maybe its time for a complete re-install as you suggest ...

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:00 pm

No, not yet...
Go to Personal Preferences to set your desired language.
Go to the Spartacus Plugin Config and choose some other mirrors, which will fetch you some new xml files for the updates. Else you would have to wait for tomorrow.
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:23 pm

Ok, got changed to English now.

It found 1 plugin not up to date, the Static Pages plugin. I clicked the "Update" button, and it seemed to do the right thing (see attachment for output). And if I search again for plugins not up to date it finds 0.

But, when I check the Static Pages it still says 3.74, so it is not updated ...
Attachments
2015-01-02_2018.png
2015-01-02_2018.png (124.58 KiB) Viewed 7511 times

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by Timbalu » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:35 pm

This is because it needs another request to check out the new version. If you click somewhere else and returm to the plugin list, you will see.

But this does not seem to have brought a change to your issue.
Do you have a plugin_staticpage.tpl file in your template?
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

JonasBang
Regular
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Static pages are blank after moving and upgrade

Post by JonasBang » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:45 pm

I have logged out and logged back in, but it still says 3.74.

However, I seem to have both installed (see attached). On parent level the 4.07, and as a child the 3.74 ...

I can see in my 1.6.2 backup that the Static Pages plugin indeed is placed in a child dir with same name as the parent.

I expect that I should delete the child and only keep the parent now, right?

Yes, I have plugin_staticpage.tpl file in my template.
Attachments
2015-01-02_2039.png
2015-01-02_2039.png (14.94 KiB) Viewed 7509 times

Post Reply