Upgrade from 2.0b3 to git snapshot...

Having trouble installing serendipity?
Post Reply
latcarf
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:21 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

Upgrade from 2.0b3 to git snapshot...

Post by latcarf » Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:13 am

Hi guys,

I wanted to start looking at the latest on GitHub and was wondering the best way to upgrade from my 2.0b3 install to a git snapshot.

I cloned the git repo and then tried to do a copy from there to my s9y install but after doing so, my sidebar plugins don't show up and the Admin UI is broken (looks like no css and missing all "Settings" links after "Configuration").

What I did was the following but I gather this might not be all I need to do:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/s9y/Serendipity.git
cp -R Serendipity/* /path/to/web/blog/Serendipity/
I also tried the same on a shared install and saw the same problem:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/s9y/Serendipity.git
cp -R Serendipity/* /usr/local/lib/php/Serendipity/
cp -R Serendipity/deployment/* /path/to/web/blog/s9ytest
Am I missing a step? Thanks for your help!!

User avatar
Timbalu
Regular
Posts: 4598
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 3:04 pm

Re: Upgrade from 2.0b3 to git snapshot...

Post by Timbalu » Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:43 am

latcarf wrote:Am I missing a step?
Well yes!
The 2.0-betas live in a 2.0 branch, currently, which is https://github.com/s9y/Serendipity/tree/2.0.
To clone a specific single branch you'd need to do something like this:

Code: Select all

git clone user@git-server:project_name.git -b branch_name --single-branch /some/folder 
Else you need to

Code: Select all

git checkout 2.0
git pull origin 2.0
after clone, but before copy.
Regards,
Ian

Serendipity Styx Edition and additional_plugins @ https://ophian.github.io/ @ https://github.com/ophian

latcarf
Regular
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:21 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

[SOLVED] Upgrade from 2.0b3 to git snapshot...

Post by latcarf » Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:49 pm

Aha! You've got it branched. I should have payed more attention to the git repository. Thanks for setting me straight!

Worked great!!

Post Reply