Sqlite3 seems broken

Having trouble installing serendipity?
Post Reply
twoblink
Regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am

Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by twoblink »

I had s9y running just fine; and then I did a "apt-get install php-pear". After that, my homepage became blank.

I moved it to a backup, and then tried a clean install; I was running sqlite3 as my db without a problem and so something is not right. With the clean install; if I picked sqlite3, it'd act like it was about to install, but it would then just go to a blank page after I click "Complete Install". If I pick sqlite instead of sqlite3, it will install. Running a phpinfo() shows that sqlite3 support is one, and the initial install page confirms that sqlite3 is supported (or at least confirms the extension is on).

So I have no idea what's going on; getting to the installation page on the fresh install produces no errors, I've checked both apache and php for errors and there weren't any.

and apparently apt-get install php5-sqlite3 <== This package no longer exists..

So any help would be appreciated! Thanks.


~~~~~~~HTML from Serendipity Install Screen below~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

<html>
<head>
<title>Serendipity Administration Suite</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="serendipity.css.php?serendipity[css_mode]=serendipity_admin.css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="templates/default/admin/pluginmanager.css" />

<script type="text/javascript">
function spawn() {
if (self.Spawnextended) {
Spawnextended();
}

if (self.Spawnbody) {
Spawnbody();
}

if (self.Spawnnugget) {
Spawnnugget();
}
}

function SetCookie(name, value) {
var today = new Date();
var expire = new Date();
expire.setTime(today.getTime() + (60*60*24*30*1000));
document.cookie = 'serendipity[' + name + ']='+escape(value) + ';expires=' + expire.toGMTString();
}

function addLoadEvent(func) {
var oldonload = window.onload;
if (typeof window.onload != 'function') {
window.onload = func;
} else {
window.onload = function() {
oldonload();
func();
}
}
}

</script>
</head>

<body id="serendipity_admin_page" onload="spawn()">
<table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0" id="serendipityAdminFrame">
<tr>
<td colspan="2" id="serendipityAdminBanner">
<h1>Serendipity Installation</h1>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>

<td colspan="2" id="serendipityAdminInfopane">
</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="top">
<td class="serendipityAdminContent" colspan="2">
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

Blank page usually means a fatal PHP error. Did you check your PHP error log (error_log or something like that in your php.ini) and/or the Apache/CGI error log?

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
onli
Regular
Posts: 2828
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by onli »

twoblink wrote: and apparently apt-get install php5-sqlite3 <== This package no longer exists..
But php5-sqlite should, though i don't know if that helps with this issue.
twoblink
Regular
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am

Re: Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by twoblink »

Checked Apache,Php, and even system logs for errors. Not a single one. Sqlite works but sqlite3 doesn't.. So I'm not sure if s9y now no longer supports sqlite3 or if it's just my system. That said, other apps using sqlite3 run on the apache/php/sqlite3 combo, and so me-thinks it's an s9y issue.
garvinhicking
Core Developer
Posts: 30022
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

I'm not that much into the SQLite stuff, but I believe PEAR-SQLite and PECL-SQLite and PHP-internal SQLite differ somewhat. Someone contributed the SQLite3 stuff, so I don't really know if it maybe relies on some function names that any of the SQLite3-implementations do not offer.

s9y requires the "sqlite3_open" function to be available; maybe only the OO-Style API for sqlite3 has been installed on your system? s9y uses the functional interface of sqlite.

Regards,
Garvin
# Garvin Hicking (s9y Developer)
# Did I help you? Consider making me happy: http://wishes.garv.in/
# or use my PayPal account "paypal {at} supergarv (dot) de"
# My "other" hobby: http://flickr.garv.in/
nth
Regular
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:41 pm

Re: Sqlite3 seems broken

Post by nth »

Try installing PDO and using pdo_sqlite (sqlite3 driver) instead of php-sqlite3. If installed properly, it should show up in the detected database extensions as "PDO::SQLite". But note that this was introduced in 1.5 as experimental, so you might want to try it first on a separate test install. :)
Image
Post Reply