Share blog entries between separate installations

Having trouble installing serendipity?
ldb

Share blog entries between separate installations

Post by ldb »

Hello,

Sorry if this has been answered, but I could not find anything related to my question when searching the forums.

I am new to serendipity and would like to know if its possible to share blog entries between web sites.

For example, our client currently has a serendipity blog, but would like to use the same database for their current blog on another web site. The reason for this is that they would like to have the same back end data (posts, authors, etc) but a different look and feel for each site.

So, for example this is how each blog would be accessed:

http://www.client-site1.com/blog
http://www.client-site2.com/blog

Each site like I said uses the same blog entries, etc -- they just need different skins. Each site is in a virtual host container.

Is this possible? And if it is, what is the recommended way of doing this? I found some posts related to a "shared" environment, but I'm not entirely convinced this is the right way to do things. I believe my situation doesn't need to be that complex. Is there a "simple" solution?

Thanks for any help!
azel
Regular

Post by azel »

I believe you could have two installations in a database, just have a different prefix for each one (say serendipity1_ and serendipity2_). Then you just install the LJ/Myspace/Serendipity update plugin. And now when you post an entry on the first site, it should automatically post to the second site.
garvinhicking
Core Developer

Re: Share blog entries between separate installations

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

You should solve that differently, by only using one serendipity installation. and using for example the plugin "Extended options/properties for categories" and then you can assign different template sto different categories.