Can't assign a Category

Having trouble installing serendipity?
Post Reply
freymann
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:23 pm

Can't assign a Category

Post by freymann » Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:28 pm

We upgraded our older 1.6.something blog to 2.3.5 and now when we create or edit a new entry we are unable to assign a category... the list never appears and if we click the category button nothing happens.

I did a fresh install of 2.3.5 and pointed it to the existing (1.6.something) database, and it lets us log in and we can see the existing blog entries OK.

Default backend theme.

Did some type of database migration fail to happen?

User avatar
onli
Regular
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't assign a Category

Post by onli » Tue Apr 06, 2021 11:08 pm

Possible. There haven't been that many database changes though. My guess would have been that the Javascript that open the overlay to select the categories was broken. That can happen if e.g. an outdated plugin got called.

Is the new install working fine now?

freymann
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:23 pm

Re: Can't assign a Category

Post by freymann » Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:33 am

The blog is working and displaying properly, we just can't assign a category to new entries when logged in.

A missing Javascript is what I'm suspecting.

We had somebody modify the bazooka theme years ago, I'm having a look through the directory to see if it's missing something. Looks like we are using own header completely so any default Javascript calls will be missing now.

I'm installing a fresh copy on a test server and will view source and compare in hopes of finding out what the missing scripts are.

freymann
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:23 pm

Re: Can't assign a Category

Post by freymann » Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:30 am

On a fresh install, when I log in as admin and view source, the backend theme is the default and both are showing the same things in the header.

The only difference I saw was:

on the fresh test install
<script src="http://localhost/serendipity/index.php? ... "></script>

compared to this:
<script src="http://localhost/serendipity/index.php? ... "></script>

(the urls are different, I just copied the first and added the number after v=)

I've been removing plugins that were custom built, updated all the other plugins.

I'm going to download the DB from the live version and do another fresh install on my home PC, and point it to downloaded db. This install would be missing plugins which I will remove. And I'll copy over our theme and activate it and see if the select categories pop up works.

A lot easier to break a test system then tinker with the live version.

User avatar
onli
Regular
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't assign a Category

Post by onli » Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:47 pm

Definitely.

The missing v=... could impact how the cache works, but it should not break anything in everyday use.

Post Reply