Brainstorming: What do we "need" template-wise?

Skinning and designing Serendipity (CSS, HTML, Smarty)
yellowled
Regular

Brainstorming: What do we "need" template-wise?

Post by yellowled »

I'd love to do a new template, but I'm kind of missing an inspiration, which made me think about this: What kind of template(s) do we "need", and should we be offering more templates "to go" in order to attract more users? So let's think about this a little, shall we?

How can we categorize templates anyway? Well, the first disctinction is quite obvious: text-based and graphical. By graphical I mean templates using a lot of background images, which is something I'm not really good at since I'm a complete and utter failure with Gimp, Photoshop and the likes. I'll leave that to people like Dave and Bex who actually know what they're doing :wink:

Another way to approach this is the layout type. Lately, there seems to be a trend not to do the traditional column-based layout (two or three, or even more with the new possibilities in 1.1) but to use the whole width for the actualy content and put sidebar plugins and stuff below that. Do we "need" more of those, or do we simply need to find new ways to do the traditional stuff? I seem to recognize another trend to switch the classic header-left-middle-right-footer to just left-middle-right and include header and footer into the sidebars.

Yet another idea would be to go for, uhm, let's call them "topic templates". I remember Carl doing a soccer template, do we "need" more of those? Something for kids? More dark templates for the gothic types?

Did I miss or not notice anything else? (I probably did.)

Let's hear what you other template guys out there think ...

YL
mgroeninger
Regular

Post by mgroeninger »