Page 1 of 1

'Maximum Execution Time Exceeded' during initial setup

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:57 pm
by pfaut
I'm trying to install Serendipity on a Windows machine at work. I'm running Apache 1.3.28 and PHP 4.3.10 on Windows 2000. I get the following error after entering configuration information on the initialization screen.

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in d:\program files\apache group\apache\htdocs\serendipity\serendipity_functions_installer.inc.php on line 632

In this section of code, the server attempts to connect to itself after setting up a .htaccess file. Line 632 corresponds to the fgets() that reads the response (the line number may have changed due to some print statements I inserted in an effort to figure out what's going wrong).

Does anyone know what's causing this? It shouldn't be taking 30 seconds to generate the response.

Re: 'Maximum Execution Time Exceeded' during initial setup

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 5:12 pm
by garvinhicking
Is Apache maybe running on a nonstandard port? Or is maybe the socket module of PHP not active, or maybe it has to do with allow_url_fopen? Do you have entries in your servers error_log file about the timeout?

Can you try to simulate the request that s9y is doing and see what is happening?

Regards,
Garvin

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:18 pm
by pfaut
Apache is running on port 80. Originally, php_sockets.dll wasn't loaded. I changed php.ini to include it and it made no difference. Safe mode is off. disable_functions is blank. There are no errors in the Apache error log. I enabled a PHP error log and the only message I get there is identical to the one above. I captured the request header and sent it through a telnet to port 80 and it worked fine but it hangs if I do it right after submitting the configuration form.

Could it be that Apache is only handling one request at a time? Does PHP create a lock or single thread application requests?

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 1:25 pm
by oxygenws
dont forget allow_url_fopen parameter in php.ini :)