Multilingual posts

Creating and modifying plugins.
Glenn
Regular

Multilingual posts

Post by Glenn »

Hello all. I'm new to Serendipity and I'm trying to get to grips with the multilingual functions.
Has anyone written a tutorial or something similar to show how to create multilingual posts?
I have installed the multilingual plugin, and I see that I can have translated titles, such as {{!en}}English title{{--}}{{!fr}}Titre Française{{--}}, but the Intro and content sections don't reliably work if I do something like :
{{!en}}
English text{{--}}
{{!fr}}
Contenu Française{{--}}
What am I doing wrong, or what do I need to do in order to be able to write my posts with both languages present in the same post ('cos I use lots of diagrams and pictures and I can't stand having to add everything a second time...)
Thanks, in advance,
Glenn
Update (several hours later...)
Well, I've sort-of got it working, but now I understand the grumbling that a few people have raised about trying to use the multilingual functions in 'real life' : logged-on with a browser that is also configured for multi-lingual use. Instead of just switching between two languages (in my case English & French), the administration environment gets mixed-up between one of the languages and a default language. If you don't watch-out, you loose changes because the default language isn't the REAL language... It's not very easy to describe, but it's VERY very annoying. I've just lost about 1hours work due to this problem. The only workaround I can see for the moment is to only work with one language at a time... But it's defeating the object.

A tutorial would be nice. Or do I submit one myself from what I've understood so far ?
Glenn
Regular

Re: Multilingual posts

Post by Glenn »

Glenn wrote: A tutorial would be nice. Or do I submit one myself from what I've understood so far ?