Some Basic Inquiries from a New S9y'er

Random stuff about serendipity. Discussion, Questions, Paraphernalia.
rafikicai

Some Basic Inquiries from a New S9y'er

Post by rafikicai »

Blessings and Peace (to ALL):

I'm new to S9Y, and am working my way around my first installation (using default template by Carl G.). I'd like to really master making my S9Y blogs sparkle, and would appreciate some mentoring by the S96 Gurus amongst you.

1) How can I take charge of the header space: to a) add photos or custom imagergy to this space and b) have the header rotate through a collection of images (Is it easy to not show a visitor the same header twice in a row?)

2) S9Y's WYSIWYG is not at all like the editor found in say Dreamweaver. I don't find it possible to use tables for layout management, without a border thickness value. In DW if you set border to zero, you at least get a dotted outline; that allows you to visualize/use the table cells (but your viewer won't see the table).

I can't even 'easily' get the S9Y tables to center.

I'd like to use invisible tables, so that I can use multiple column formats
within my entries.

3) I've installed S9Y files in two different areas on my server. How do I easily turn these into two totally different blogs; so that I try out templates with one, while keeping the other as my public face?

Thanks, in advance, for your insights and helping hands.

In Service of THE ONENESS,
Rafiki "The Digital Doctor" Cai
The ONENESS of The Allness is the Key that we seek. When will we All catch on?
garvinhicking
Core Developer

Re: Some Basic Inquiries from a New S9y'er

Post by garvinhicking »

Hi!

Great to hear that you found Serendipity and have fun with it. :-)

About your questions:

1. You can do that either via the 'style.css' file of your template, and then use background-image properties to that CSS for displaying graphics on elements. The other way is to just insert your HTML code into the "index.tpl" template file.