Domain Name

Having trouble installing serendipity?
CrimsonRegret

Domain Name

Post by CrimsonRegret »

I am not good with HTML Or anything like that. I need help getting my domain name correct. As I understand I have to redirect traffic some how and I have NO idea how to do that.

Right now my domain name is: Http://MissMisanthropist.com

However when I use this source as a platform it becomes Http://MissMisanthropist.com/s9y and I don't want that. I want to be able to just use MissMisanthropist.com

I am not good with HTML and I'm going to need someone to very carefully explain to me how to do this. On the last website I tried to get help people seemed to all be HTML experts and couldn't explain this to me without using large terms that I can't understand. Can anyone help me out here? I'd greatly appreciate it.
yellowled
Regular

Re: Domain Name

Post by yellowled »

Pretty much the easiest solution would be to not upload Serendipity to a folder /s9y/ on your web space but to the root folder of your web space.

YL
Timbalu
Regular

Re: Domain Name

Post by Timbalu »

It depends on how you did it ...

To start from scratch, which is possibly cleaner:

First, undo your s9y/ install and database tables.

Second, install Serendipity to the / root of your domain (not to /serendipity/ or /s9y/) and disable the servers index listing by

add

Code: Select all

Options -Indexes 
to a directory configuration settings in your virtualhost. Either in

<Directory />
    Options -Indexes 
</Directory>
or add the -Indexes to your document root Serendipity .htaccess file after installation is done

Options -MultiViews -Indexes

If you already have installed and this still is an empty untouched blog, you can also go this route, which saves some time for ftp transfers:
  • Cut and paste everything from inside "/s9y/" to "/".